In November and December, we are offering three, remote text analytics classes to any faculty, librarians, staff and students at institutions participating in Constellate's beta program.  Each class runs for one week, with three sessions held on Tuesday, Thursday and Friday.  Each session is 90 minutes long and will run twice, once at 10 am Eastern and once at 3:30 pm Eastern – the morning and afternoon session on any given day are identical and attendees may choose the one that best fits their schedule.  Class recordings will be available for attendees that can't make a live session.

All classes are taught using the Python programming language and Jupyter Notebooks that run in the Constellate Lab – you do not need to set-up any software on your personal computer.

All classes will be taught by Nathan Kelber.

Sign-up for any and all of the classes below.

Introduction to Python

This class will teach you about Jupyter Notebooks, operators, expressions, data types, variables, flow control, lists, dictionaries, and basic functions.  No prior programming experience is required.

  • Tuesday, November 2, 2021 at 10 am and 3:30 pm Eastern
  • Thursday, November 4, 2021 at 10 am and 3:30 pm Eastern
  • Friday, November 5, 2021 at 10 am and 3:30 pm Eastern

Recordings for class attendees of "Introduction to Python" are available.

Opening, Writing, and Cleaning Data with Python

Learn to work with a variety of files and how to manipulate data.  Attendees should have taken the Constellate Introduction to Python class (or have equivalent experience - such as working through the Constellate Beginner Lessons on your own) and be ready to have fun with Pandas.

Sign up for Opening, Writing, and Cleaning Data with Python.

  • Tuesday, November 30, 2021 at 10 am and 3:30 pm Eastern
  • Thursday, December 2, 2021 at 10 am and 3:30 pm Eastern
  • Friday, December 3, 2021 at 10 am and 3:30 pm Eastern

Recordings for class attendees of "Opening, Writing, and Cleaning Data with Python" are available.

Text Analysis for Humanists

Learn several text analysis techniques frequently used by digital humanists. Attendees should have taken the Constellate Introduction to Python class (or have equivalent experience - such as working through the Constellate Beginner Lessons on your own.)

Sign up for Text Analysis for Humanists.

  • Tuesday, December 14, 2021 at 10 am and 3:30 pm Eastern
  • Thursday, December 16, 2021 at 10 am and 3:30 pm Eastern
  • Friday, December 17, 2021 at 10 am and 3:30 pm Eastern

Nathan Kelber

Nathan is the Community Engagement Lead for JSTOR Labs and the director of the Text Analysis Pedagogy Institute. In addition to his teaching role with Constellate, he has taught text analysis and digital humanities courses at the University of Maryland, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and Wayne State University.

If you have any questions, feel free to reach out to us at tdm@ithaka.org or via the Slack channel (let us know if you want to be added).

Time Zone Conversions

For your convenience, charts of common time zone conversions are below - we recommend you double check these!

Please note, that for the first class, the week of November 4, the United States is still on daylight savings time and the rest of the world has moved onto standard time.  Therefore, the time conversions for the first class are different than those for the final two classes of the year.

Conversion for Introduction to Python

City Time Zone Time Conversion for 10 am Eastern Time Conversion for 3:30 pm Eastern
New York, NY, USA EDT 10:00 AM 3:30 PM
Chicago, IL, USA CDT 9:00 AM 2:30 PM
San Francisco, CA, USA PDT 7:00 AM 12:30 PM
London, UK GMT 2:00 PM 7:30 PM
Amsterdam, NL CET 8:00 PM 8:30 PM
New Delhi, IN IST 7:30 PM 1:00 AM (next day)
Singapore, SG SGT 10:00 PM 3:30 AM (next day)
Sydney, AU AEDT 1:00 AM (next day) 6:30 AM (next day)

Conversion for Opening, Writing, and Cleaning Data with Python and Text Analysis for Humanists

City Time Zone Time Conversion for 10 am Eastern Time Conversion for 3:30 pm Eastern
New York, NY, USA EST 10:00 AM 3:30 PM
Chicago, IL, USA CST 9:00 AM 2:30 PM
San Francisco, CA, USA PST 7:00 AM 12:30 PM
London, UK GMT 3:00 PM 8:30 PM
Amsterdam, NL CET 4:00 PM 9:30 PM
New Delhi, IN IST 8:30 PM 2:00 AM (next day)
Singapore, SG SGT 11:00 PM 4:30 AM (next day)
Sydney, AU AEDT 2:00 AM (next day) 7:30 AM (next day)